News Centre

Sports Awards evening highlights


Tall Blacks basketballer Finn Delaney was guest speaker at our annual College Sports Awards evening. He shared his experiences of battling through adversity and how through demonstrating character and determination he reached his goal of becoming a better player. He was very popular among our students and a wonderful role model and ambassador for the Breakers and NZ basketball.

The evening saw 182 recipients of individual awards and six teams were also recognised. We also paid tribute to our 120+ volunteers, including three parents, Kathryn Stonehouse (netball), Julian Greengrass (rugby) and Veronica O’Connell (rugby), who are leaving us having given service over a number of years.

Tanya Murray – Athletics Cup for our Most Outstanding Track & Field Athlete

Clive Luna – Badminton Cup for the Most Valuable Player

Jan Matanguihan – “The Crummer Cup” – Most Promising Junior Basketball Player

Martina Kleis – Basketball Cup for the Girls Most Valuable Player

Thomas Wood – Basketball Cup for the Boys Most Valuable Player

Anna Faulkner – Distance Running Cup for the Most Outstanding Runner

Genevieve Churton – Junior Football Trophy for the Junior Girls Football Player of the Year

Sophie Ruka – Football Cup for the Girls Most Valuable Player

Nicholas Jansen – Football Cup for the Boys Most Valuable Player

Leah Dawson – Hockey Cup for the Girls Most Valuable Player

Logan Butterworth – Hockey Cup for the Boys Most Valuable Player

Martina Kleis – Premier Girls Netball Player of the Year

Luke O’Connell – Rugby Sportsmanship Cup

Visesio Tangifua – Rugby First Fifteen Player of the Year

Laura Richardson – Student coach of the Year

Michael Kleis – Coach of the Year

U15 Girls Football – Junior Team of the Year

College A Netball – Team of the Year