News Centre

SMC Readers Cup 2020 team chosen

Drum roll, please…The winners of the Readers Cup 2020 are Lucas Cooper (9LIS), Rory Quiding (9LIS), Piper Hurren (9LIS), Joshua Araos (9GNS) and Averill Realon (9GNS)! Congratulations to all!

Mrs O’Rorke picked a variety of texts for this year’s Readers Cup. These comprised of two novels – Rocco and The Giver, a short story – Acid Rain and a poem – the Owl and the Pussy Cat. There were five teams competing, one from each home room. Each team had up to 5 students. Although the Readers Cup was originally supposed to be held earlier in the year, due to lock down it was delayed until 2nd June.

After weeks of reading the selected texts, the teams got together in the Quiet Room of the Library to compete. The competition was judged by Mrs Sullivan and Mr Camp. Mrs O’Rorke read out the questions to the competing teams. There were six questions for each text and the teams were scored out of ten for each of the readings.

The prizes were a Whitcoulls gift voucher and a medal for each member in the winning team. As there were only three students in 9LIS (the winning team), two students from 9GNS (which placed second) were grouped with 9LIS to make a team of five. This group will now have the honour of representing Sancta against other schools on the 11 August.

Thanks to Mrs O’Rorke and Mrs Dickson for organising this event and to the judges. Good Luck to winners for the next competition!

Cyprus Causer